by Neil Labute
United States, 2022, 104', color
01 December 21:15 - Cineteca Milano Arlecchino

Connor Bates is a young man who life has stalled out after spending time in prison following an assault charge. He now works in a library and spends his free time running and swimming and trying to piece his world back together. One day he meets Marilyn Chambers, the wife of a wealthy businessman, and they collide into an intense physical and emotional relationship that quickly escalates into idle talk about her husband’s murder. Connor thinks he’s found a way to escape the past. Marilyn thinks she’s found a way to escape her future. Both are headed down a path they could’ve never seen coming.

Neil LaBute
Walter Lloyd
Kathryn J. Schubert

Adam Bosarge
production design
Megan Elizabeth Bell
Deborah Newhall

Diane Kruger
Ray Nicholson
Gia Crovatin
Hank Azaria
Chase Sui Wonders
KeiLyn Durrel
Pamela Jayne Morgan
Frederick Weller
Victor Slezak

Tara L. Craig
Berry Meyerowitz
The Squid Farm

Neil LaBute began working in film in 1997 with his feature debut, In the Company of Men, which made its debut at the Sundance Film Festival.The film went on to win the Filmmaker Trophy as well as the New York Film Critics Circle Award for Best First Feature. In addition to Sundance, it screened at the Cannes, Edinburgh, New Directors/New Films, London and Deauville Film Festivals and won two Independent Spirit Awards. Following In the Company of Men, LaBute also established himself as a playwright as well as a film & television writer/director. Among his films are Your Friends and NeighborsNurse Betty, The Shape of Things, Lakeview Terrace, Some Velvet Morning, Dirty Weekend and House of Darkness. In television, he has created three series for DirecTV: Full Circle, Ten x Ten and Billy & Billie. LaBute also served as showrunner on the series Van Helsing, which ran for five seasons on SYFY.

2023 Fear the Night
2022 Out of the Blue
2022 House of Darkness
2018 Oh! Squints III
2015 Dirty Weekend

2013 Oh! Squints II
2013 Some Velvet Morning
2010 Death at a Funeral
2008 Lakeview Terrace
2007 Oh! Squints

2006 The Wicker Man
2003 The Shape of Things
2002 Possession
2000 Nurse Betty
1998 Your Friends and Neighbors
1997 In the Company of Men